Home > KPIs, SEO > Developing a SEO Strategy Plan for your website|Part 1 Objectives and KPIs

Developing a SEO Strategy Plan for your website|Part 1 Objectives and KPIs

I recently took a new job at Microsoft and am expanding my role beyond the paid search realm and diving into the fun and excitement of organic search. One of the tenants of my new position is to develop a SEO strategy plan, implement said plan and monitor and report the progress made in improving our organic search rankings. This is the process I’ve gone through as I’ve pulled together my SEO Strategy plan for our website, and how I’ve thought through the process.

  1. Understand where you are
  2. Determine where you need to go
  3. Land your objectives by identifying key tactics and the corresponding KPIs
  4. Develop scorecards to track KPIs and to measure progress
  5. Audit and work with site managers to fix 10-15 pages each month to ensure that we’re constantly improving site performance
  6. Start over!

This seems simple enough, but for some reason it’s easier said than done. I’ve got a mountain ahead of me to acheive the my manager and GM’s mission of:  “Establish organic search engine optimization (SEO) and paid search engine marketing (SEM) as an integral part of the global digital strategy which delivers high volume of qualified traffic to consumer marketing properties.”

My objective was to find ways to improve our organic search listings to reverse the trend of stagnant to downward trending traffic growth over the past 3 years and to do so in such a manner that SEO becomes a part of the site management and digital stragtegy process. After talking with several of my colleagues I landing on the following framework for developing my high level objectives along with the KPI’s that we would use to measure sucess.

 SEO Objectives and KPIs

 Part 1 of my objective is acomplished. I’ve determined at a high level what it is that we need to do on a regular basis. Now I’ve got to identify and set the smaller tactical items for each of these main objectives, identify KPIs for each item, and develop my baselines!

Categories: KPIs, SEO
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

