Home > Personal > Looking Back, Reflecting, & Starting Over in 2012

Looking Back, Reflecting, & Starting Over in 2012

Welcome to 2012! I always find myself spending the first week of the new year reflecting on the previous year and how it went both personally and professionally. 2011 was a year of ups and downs. Moments where I am extremely proud of what I accomplished and a few moments that left me in tears questioning everything I’d been working on and towards.

Looking back at 2011, I find myself reflecting on a few key themes: work, running, and family.

I’m the type of person that makes lists and likes to check items off of the list when it’s been accomplished. I keep to-do lists for work, lists of races I want to run, and my honey-do list for things at home. Reflecting on 2011 90% of the items that I was able to check off of my to-do list didn’t make the top memories of the year for me. What made my top moments were times I spent with family and friends — saying Good Bye to friends as they moved away and saying Hello to new friends who came into my life and helped me grow to me a better person.

I challenged myself physically and mentally. I ran 50 miles. 50 MILES! That’s more than most people drive in a give day! Jason and I went to Hawaii and had fun discovering Oahu. I also learned email marketing, social media, and about PR.

And while I’d like to say that work related moments weren’t at the top of the list I had two moments that were notable: Getting hired as the Director of Marketing for Decide and getting laid off as the Director of Marketing for Decide 6 months later. Although I’m still bitter about getting laid off after what was a very short tenure, what I can say is that I took a leap of faith. I left my comfort zone for the unknown and while it didn’t work out the way I had planned, it did leave me with a lot of great experiences that I’m bringing with me into 2012.

I’m starting over with a new career in 2012. It also goes to show that the connections you make can make all the difference. The day I got laid off at Decide I called an acquaintance/mentor who left Microsoft and asked him for advice. Within a month I was able to accept a role as a Senior Analytics Consultant with Pointmarc where that colleague is the Managing Director.

So what I’m taking with me into the new year is that sometimes you need to take a leap of faith into the unknown. You need to challenge yourself both mentally and physically because we are after all quite resilient. We will survive and although we might come away with a few battle scars, we come away with the knowledge of how push through and carry on.

Happy New Years.

-Christi

Categories: Personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

